E-A-R fan mounts and silicone fan gaskets?

Control: management of fans, temp/rpm monitoring via soft/hardware

Moderators: NeilBlanchard, Ralf Hutter, sthayashi, Lawrence Lee

LH

E-A-R fan mounts and silicone fan gaskets?

Post by LH » Thu Dec 30, 2004 10:50 pm

If I install a case fan using E-A-R fan mounts, will there be a small gap between the case wall and the fan's frame? If so, should that gap be filled in with something like a silicone fan gasket?

I doubt I'll need a silicone fan gasket for its vibration-reducing property, since I'll be using a Nexus fan (which is supposed to have very little vibration) with E-A-R fan mounts, but it should be an excellent gap-sealer. However, I'm not sure a fan gasket will be compatible with E-A-R fan mounts, since I've never used either before.

I suppose I could use weatherstripping foam instead of a fan gasket.

Any thoughts on this?

silverback

Post by silverback » Thu Dec 30, 2004 11:13 pm

The gap is a good thing and is intentional. Less contact for less vibrations to transfer. The gap itself doesnt hurt anything. Even if it was your intake fan the air filter is typically on the other side so it would not be a problem.

LH

Post by LH » Thu Dec 30, 2004 11:23 pm

silverback wrote:The gap is a good thing and is intentional. Less contact for less vibrations to transfer. The gap itself doesnt hurt anything. Even if it was your intake fan the air filter is typically on the other side so it would not be a problem.
Interesting... I think I read here and at AcoustiProducts that the gap might cause airflow issues, backpressure, or something like that. But like you said, less contact will result in less vibration. I'll probably just skip the gasket--at least for the time being.

Thanks for the response. :)

EvoFire

Post by EvoFire » Fri Dec 31, 2004 2:52 am

I think the gap causes turbulance... I have a gap with my fans, and the noise is LOUD.

Tiamat

Post by Tiamat » Fri Dec 31, 2004 6:58 am