Finally, MB's that can shut off fans?

Control: management of fans, temp/rpm monitoring via soft/hardware

Moderators: NeilBlanchard, Ralf Hutter, sthayashi, Lawrence Lee

alexh

Finally, MB's that can shut off fans?

Post by alexh » Fri May 14, 2010 8:01 am

Hi all,

Given the availability of very low power platforms, I thought it would be desirable in some cases to allow fans to totally stop if power levels were low enough. On some systems, when running apps that use graphics acceleration (and assuming no encryption) the CPU utilization can be around 5% or lower.

However, I did some tinkering on one of my systems, manually setting speedfan to 0% and monitoring the fan voltage. At 0%, it reads about 5V which won't stop the fans I use (Nexus). If I manually stop the blades, then the fan may not start back up until a higher voltage is applied. My MB uses the WinBond 83791D fan controller.

I'm an EE by trade and I seem to remember designing a fan controller for a telecom app many moons ago and if I recall correctly the controller PWM output was filtered to DC and biased to 5V (so the range is 5V-12V). My guess is that the 5V bias is to prevent complete fan shutdown under any conditions.

Now I see that some are able to build systems using BIOS control, that stop the fans when power consumption is low. The person tested it using hair dryer and verfied operation. The motherboard tested is a BIOSTAR MCP6P-M2 AM2 GF6150 AMD.

Did something change regarding fan controllers or am I just behind the curve? The reason I bring this up is that I have a Media Center with Antec Fusion Remote. Even with the fan control (switch) at it's lower setting, you can easily hear the fans when there is no audio. I absolutely had to configure my system to prevent wakeups in the middle of the night and this took some doing (this is a bedroom system).

http://www.ademiller.com/blogs/tech/200 ... er-server/

frenchie
Friend of SPCR

Post by frenchie » Fri May 14, 2010 8:14 am