want to replace the fan in my Stardom...

Control: management of fans, temp/rpm monitoring via soft/hardware

Moderators: NeilBlanchard, Ralf Hutter, sthayashi, Lawrence Lee

Post Reply
mzimmers
Posts: 85
Joined: Sat Sep 18, 2010 5:00 pm
Location: Central CA

want to replace the fan in my Stardom...

Post by mzimmers » Tue Nov 01, 2011 7:44 am

...the current fan is a 60x60x10mm, which I gather is rather an unusual size. Has a three-pin connector (yellow, red and black wires).

I don't know if anyone has a specific recommendation for a fan this size, but...are the thinner fans generally louder than thicker ones? I could look at building a deeper enclosure for mine if I had to.

Image

Thanks for any input.

EDIT:

Also, is it possible to tell from the fan's connector what its voltage is? This one doesn't have any printing on it. Thanks...
M. Zimmers
Staff Writer
www.scopedin.com

Abula
Posts: 3586
Joined: Tue Nov 02, 2004 12:22 pm
Location: Guatemala

Re: want to replace the fan in my Stardom...

Post by Abula » Tue Nov 01, 2011 8:09 am

There are very few options for 60x10mm fans, and i dont have any experience on them, maybe something like Cooljag Everflow 60mm x 10mm Fan (126010DL).
GameMi - Intel i9 9900K + Gigabyte Z390 AM + Asus RTX2080Ti Strix | MiniMi - Intel i7 8700K + ASRock Z370ITX + MSI RTX2080Ti
StreaMi - Intel i9 7940X + AsRock X299 Taichi + Asus GTX1080Ti Strix | WorkMi - AMD 1950X + AsRock X399 Taichi + MSI GTX1080
ServeMi - Intel Xeon E3-1230 + Supermicro X9SCM-F + 144TB | StoreMi - Intel Xeon E3 1240v5 + Supermicro X11SSM-F + 42TB | CamMi - Intel i7 4770K + MSI H81i + Blue Iris

mzimmers
Posts: 85
Joined: Sat Sep 18, 2010 5:00 pm
Location: Central CA

Re: want to replace the fan in my Stardom...

Post by mzimmers » Tue Nov 01, 2011 8:13 am

OK, well...what if I were to build a deeper housing for it?
M. Zimmers
Staff Writer
www.scopedin.com

Abula
Posts: 3586
Joined: Tue Nov 02, 2004 12:22 pm
Location: Guatemala

Re: want to replace the fan in my Stardom...

Post by Abula » Tue Nov 01, 2011 8:22 am

There are more options on the 25mm thickness, but not sure if it would be worth it, 60mm fans tends to be noisy as they need to rev more to move air, but up to you, i would just try the fan 10mm and see from there.
GameMi - Intel i9 9900K + Gigabyte Z390 AM + Asus RTX2080Ti Strix | MiniMi - Intel i7 8700K + ASRock Z370ITX + MSI RTX2080Ti
StreaMi - Intel i9 7940X + AsRock X299 Taichi + Asus GTX1080Ti Strix | WorkMi - AMD 1950X + AsRock X399 Taichi + MSI GTX1080
ServeMi - Intel Xeon E3-1230 + Supermicro X9SCM-F + 144TB | StoreMi - Intel Xeon E3 1240v5 + Supermicro X11SSM-F + 42TB | CamMi - Intel i7 4770K + MSI H81i + Blue Iris

mzimmers
Posts: 85
Joined: Sat Sep 18, 2010 5:00 pm
Location: Central CA

Re: want to replace the fan in my Stardom...

Post by mzimmers » Tue Nov 01, 2011 11:50 am

OK, maybe I'll give that a try. I know this is probably a lame question, but can I make a good guess on the voltage of my fan, based on its connector? I'd like to make sure that new fan is the same voltage rating.
M. Zimmers
Staff Writer
www.scopedin.com

mzimmers
Posts: 85
Joined: Sat Sep 18, 2010 5:00 pm
Location: Central CA

Re: want to replace the fan in my Stardom...

Post by mzimmers » Wed Nov 09, 2011 6:37 am

Update: I did in fact order and install an Evercool. It's no quieter than the stock fan. It was worth a try, but as Abula cautioned me, it seems to be a challenge to get a really quiet 60mm fan. I'll have to give this some more thought to see whether I can put something else on there.
M. Zimmers
Staff Writer
www.scopedin.com

Lithium466
Posts: 83
Joined: Wed Feb 16, 2011 11:52 am

Re: want to replace the fan in my Stardom...

Post by Lithium466 » Wed Nov 09, 2011 11:23 am

You may also try Noiseblocker fan, XR1 or XR2 ;)

Edit : but they are 25mm thick...

frenchie
Friend of SPCR
Posts: 1346
Joined: Tue Jul 08, 2008 4:53 am
Location: CT

Re: want to replace the fan in my Stardom...

Post by frenchie » Wed Nov 09, 2011 12:30 pm

How about 15mm thick fans ?
I used a PAPST 60mm * 15mm fan and it was very quiet but airflow was not great. It might be worth a try if you can get one.
Main/gamming : Antec Solo|X-650|Asus P5Q-E|Intel Q9550@3.4GHz|HR-01 Plus 120mm Nexus @6V|Corsair 2x2Go XMS2 DHX cas 4 @4-4-4-12|Exhaust Nexus 120mm @9V|Intel X25M G2 160Gb|Samsung 1TB in SQD|2xGigabyte GTS450 OC (@900/1900/3800)|GPU fan 120mm Nexus @6V
HTPC/folder/Storage : Silverstone|E5300 with Samurai-Z|2Go RAM|GTX460@800|2x1To WD EARS|Intel X25M G2 80Go

Fold with SPCR

mzimmers
Posts: 85
Joined: Sat Sep 18, 2010 5:00 pm
Location: Central CA

Re: want to replace the fan in my Stardom...

Post by mzimmers » Wed Nov 09, 2011 12:34 pm

If I go with anything thicker than 10, I'll have to make a new bracket to hold it in. If I'm going to do that, I might as well go to a full 25mm, no?
M. Zimmers
Staff Writer
www.scopedin.com

frenchie
Friend of SPCR
Posts: 1346
Joined: Tue Jul 08, 2008 4:53 am
Location: CT

Re: want to replace the fan in my Stardom...

Post by frenchie » Thu Nov 10, 2011 3:27 am

mzimmers wrote:If I go with anything thicker than 10, I'll have to make a new bracket to hold it in. If I'm going to do that, I might as well go to a full 25mm, no?
Yes ! There is absolutely no room behind the fan right now for anything bigger than 10mm ... ?
Main/gamming : Antec Solo|X-650|Asus P5Q-E|Intel Q9550@3.4GHz|HR-01 Plus 120mm Nexus @6V|Corsair 2x2Go XMS2 DHX cas 4 @4-4-4-12|Exhaust Nexus 120mm @9V|Intel X25M G2 160Gb|Samsung 1TB in SQD|2xGigabyte GTS450 OC (@900/1900/3800)|GPU fan 120mm Nexus @6V
HTPC/folder/Storage : Silverstone|E5300 with Samurai-Z|2Go RAM|GTX460@800|2x1To WD EARS|Intel X25M G2 80Go

Fold with SPCR

mzimmers
Posts: 85
Joined: Sat Sep 18, 2010 5:00 pm
Location: Central CA

Re: want to replace the fan in my Stardom...

Post by mzimmers » Thu Nov 10, 2011 7:14 am

Not enough room for anything bigger, no.

Yesterday I put the original fan back in after cleaning the dust off with compressed air. It seems a lot quieter now (maybe just my imagination), so I'll probably run with it as is. Building that new housing is going to take a bit of doing.
M. Zimmers
Staff Writer
www.scopedin.com

frenchie
Friend of SPCR
Posts: 1346
Joined: Tue Jul 08, 2008 4:53 am
Location: CT

Re: want to replace the fan in my Stardom...

Post by frenchie » Thu Nov 10, 2011 7:21 am

If you have a dremel and don't mind having no fan fan grill on the fan, cut out the grill, it can make a really big difference (depending on the kind of grill you have).
Main/gamming : Antec Solo|X-650|Asus P5Q-E|Intel Q9550@3.4GHz|HR-01 Plus 120mm Nexus @6V|Corsair 2x2Go XMS2 DHX cas 4 @4-4-4-12|Exhaust Nexus 120mm @9V|Intel X25M G2 160Gb|Samsung 1TB in SQD|2xGigabyte GTS450 OC (@900/1900/3800)|GPU fan 120mm Nexus @6V
HTPC/folder/Storage : Silverstone|E5300 with Samurai-Z|2Go RAM|GTX460@800|2x1To WD EARS|Intel X25M G2 80Go

Fold with SPCR

mzimmers
Posts: 85
Joined: Sat Sep 18, 2010 5:00 pm
Location: Central CA

Re: want to replace the fan in my Stardom...

Post by mzimmers » Thu Nov 10, 2011 7:27 am

OK, thanks, Frenchie.
M. Zimmers
Staff Writer
www.scopedin.com

bean1975
Posts: 90
Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2006 3:46 am
Location: Vancouver

Re: want to replace the fan in my Stardom...

Post by bean1975 » Mon Jun 20, 2016 9:50 pm

Hello five years later :D any solutions to 60mm x 10mm fans these days? I am dismayed to hear ;) the 126010DL is not quiet, I would've expected since it has two higher level siblings 126010DM and 126010DH it'd be the quiet one. Should I just suck it and go with a Noctua 40mm? What about the Scythe Mini Kaze 50mm? (The 60mm is too thick) Or the Silent Series R2 50mm? Finally, I might be able to put a 70mm there, what about some of https://www.amazon.de/l%C3%BCfter-60x60 ... 2060x60x10 these? Here's a https://www.amazon.de/24V-Klinge-K%C3%B ... r+60x60x10 24V, I wonder whether it's start at 12V ... that'd help it to be quiet :) Any http://www.digikey.com/product-detail/e ... ND/1555753 of these?

Post Reply