ccfl case lights

Our "pub" where you can post about things completely Off Topic or about non-silent PC issues.

Moderators: NeilBlanchard, Ralf Hutter, sthayashi, Lawrence Lee

Post Reply
dan
Posts: 1243
Joined: Sun Jan 25, 2004 2:01 am
Contact:

ccfl case lights

Post by dan » Sat Jan 03, 2015 5:18 pm

hello
i have a question i originally wanted to install 4 ccfl case lights with 2 invertors from logisys 12" but it would not work. the pc would not boot. kinda scary. it only accepts 1 inverter 2 ccfl lights.


second, after about 2-3 years of lights it stop giving off light. what went wrong?

these things are extremely fragile. the invertor i can replace but if i try to move the lights they always break :)

edh
Posts: 1616
Joined: Mon Mar 17, 2008 1:49 pm
Location: UK

Re: ccfl case lights

Post by edh » Sun Jan 04, 2015 3:55 am

Don't use CCFL lighting in cases. It's really really bad for heat output and just increases the amount of case ventilation required.
Raijintek Metis: i5-6400, Scythe Ninja 4, Asus Z170i Pro Gaming, 8Gb RAM, GTX 950, Crucial 250Gb M.2, Seasonic X-400

dan
Posts: 1243
Joined: Sun Jan 25, 2004 2:01 am
Contact:

Re: ccfl case lights

Post by dan » Sun Jan 04, 2015 1:51 pm

edh wrote:Don't use CCFL lighting in cases. It's really really bad for heat output and just increases the amount of case ventilation required.
IMO its very beautiful.

from what i read, it is like 200+ volts but it only uses 8 watts of power which doesn't sound like much heat. the light is cold to touch.

the inverter though is hot no doubt.

Pappnaas
Posts: 726
Joined: Mon May 16, 2011 11:23 am
Location: Germany

Re: ccfl case lights

Post by Pappnaas » Sun Jan 04, 2015 3:45 pm

Maybe it's time to move on to LED stripes, can be bought for cheap on ebay from chinese people

dan
Posts: 1243
Joined: Sun Jan 25, 2004 2:01 am
Contact:

Re: ccfl case lights

Post by dan » Sun Jan 04, 2015 8:15 pm

Pappnaas wrote:Maybe it's time to move on to LED stripes, can be bought for cheap on ebay from chinese people
AFAIK the bulbs seem ok. i guess its an invertor problem.

Post Reply