Interesting find for programmers

Our "pub" where you can post about things completely Off Topic or about non-silent PC issues.

Moderators: NeilBlanchard, Ralf Hutter, sthayashi, Lawrence Lee

rbrodka
Patron of SPCR

Interesting find for programmers

Post by rbrodka » Thu Dec 28, 2006 5:04 pm

I stumbled across an interesting programming tool the other day. The site describes it as:
Aurora is a powerful 32 bit compiler featuring an integrated development environment with advanced compiler, assembler, and linker.

Aurora features a C-like syntax with high level commands making it ideal for students and advanced programmers alike. Aurora can create stand-alone executables with no runtime libraries needed. Designed to be a cross-platform compiler there will be both Windows and Linux versions available.
Throughout my long career as a programmer, I have watched programming languages and tools become increasingly complex, bloated, and resource intensive. For years I have wished I could find a high level Windows programming language that did not require massive run-time programs or frameworks. I would love to create programs that do not require an installer; just copy the executable wherever you want it, and run it.

I purchased a copy because I thought it was a darn nice piece of work, and it supports a small independent software developer. I'm not anti-Microsoft, but I prefer to give my money to a small independent developer rather than enrich Bill Gates and further his software monopoly.

The site is: www.ionicwind.com and the product is called Aurora. They also have a Basic language tool. If you are a programmer and creating a stand-alone executable interests you, you might want to check them out.

If this sounds too much like an advertisement, I apologize, and a moderator can delete this post. I was just so excited to find this tool that I wanted to share it with others.

Thanks,

Randall

Beyonder

Post by Beyonder » Fri Dec 29, 2006 9:47 am