Which HD3850 with an Accelero?

They make noise, too.

Moderators: NeilBlanchard, Ralf Hutter, sthayashi, Lawrence Lee

Ubtree

Which HD3850 with an Accelero?

Post by Ubtree » Tue May 06, 2008 9:29 am

I would like to run an HD 3850 (PCI-Express) with an Accelero S1 Rev 2, but I am not an expert on graphics cards (and I'm totally new to ATI), and would appreciate some help on choosing a card.

My main requirements (other than silence) are reliability and stability. The main use of the card will be photo-editing, and so performance is not a major consideration; I will not be overclocking, nor using the card for gaming.

I need help to decide on a manufacturer / specific model. Any help would be appreciated.

FartingBob
Patron of SPCR

Post by FartingBob » Tue May 06, 2008 9:45 am

If your not gaming you can get a much cheaper card that the 3850. Any cheap card will be fine for 2D work.
The HD3450 is half the price of the 3850 in the UK and will run your system very well, whilst consuming less power and most of them ive seen don't use a fan to cool them.

Ubtree

Post by Ubtree » Tue May 06, 2008 11:10 am

Thanks, Bob. That is extremely helpful. Being a complete ignoramus when it comes to graphics cards (since I don't have many special requirements), I have to rely on those who know much more than me - and they are usually gamers. So I have previously been steered towards the higher end cards. But a 512MB HD3450 (with 2 x DVI for my 2 monitors) fits the bill perfectly.

Just one more question. I assume that different manufacturers produce different versions of the HD3450. Are any manufacturers better (more reliable, etc.) than others?

Immortals
Friend of SPCR

Post by Immortals » Tue May 06, 2008 12:33 pm