Single fan underclocked HTPC - need comments

Got a shopping cart of parts that you want opinions on? Get advice from members on your planned or existing system (or upgrade).

Moderators: NeilBlanchard, Ralf Hutter, sthayashi, Lawrence Lee

slem

Single fan underclocked HTPC - need comments

Post by slem » Fri Jan 07, 2005 6:50 am

Hi all!

I'd like to bulid a box for general HTPC usage, highest priority is to make it quiet as the wife won't have a noisy comp in the livingroom. Sadly it also have to be sorta cheapo since having kids turned out to be quite expensive!?

I'm a newbie to silent PC's but I've been reading a bit in this forum and I think I know what I want/need to do. A Celeron 2,4 GHz or Sempron 2200+, running at around 1 GHz should be enough computing power to do all that I need and more. From what I have learned the schyte HeatlaneZen or the Thermalright XP-120 should be able to cope with this? I will use a 300W PSU with 120 mm bottom mounted fan to draw air over/through the cpu cooler.
For graphics I will use a passivly cooled Matrox G400 Max

Any thoughts on this? Parts recommendations? Or am I just horribly wrong and this sucker would burn right away?

Thanks for all and any help!

Jordan

Post by Jordan » Fri Jan 07, 2005 7:46 am

If you can afford an XP-M, ti's much more flexible with underclocking as it has an unlocked multiplier. It means you can still have a high FSB while you lower the CPU speed.

Make sure you get a Motherboard with a range of voltage settings etc (I can personally recommend the DFI Infinity) so you can undervolt.

What PSU?

sthayashi
*Lifetime Patron*

Post by sthayashi » Fri Jan 07, 2005 9:26 am

Go with Athlon XP-M. They can be had for cheaply and can be undervolted easily.