Fan advice! Please :)

Control: management of fans, temp/rpm monitoring via soft/hardware

Moderators: NeilBlanchard, Ralf Hutter, sthayashi, Lawrence Lee

flurgina

Fan advice! Please :)

Post by flurgina » Fri Oct 03, 2014 1:51 pm

Hi guys, I'm new to cooling systems, I've read around the forums a little bit, but I have a couple general cooling questions

1) What is the advantage of connecting the fan to the MOBO over PSU? I believe I've heard RPM control through MOBO, but would that imply that a PSU always runs fans at full RPMs?
2) I have this MOBO (http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.a ... 6813131837) that only has a few chasis fan connectors, but between slots on my case & CPU cooler, I'd like to run 7 120mm fans and 1 200mm fan. Is it possible to connect them all to the MOBO? Will there be a power concern? What is the best adapater to buy, and will it support controlling the RPMs on all of them?
3) I have this case (http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.a ... 6811139005). For intake, I am planning on putting a 200mm in the front, 4 120mm on the side. For exhaust, I am planning on putting 2 120mm on the top and 1 120mm on the rear (with my h60 (I know it's not the best cpu cooler) radiator attached). Would anyone recommend a different intake/exhaust setup? Would it be worthwhile to sandwich the h60 radiator between 2 120mm fans, both blowing out?
4) I plan on buying these fans:
7x http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.a ... id=1092328
1x Some 200mm (Not sure which yet)
It seems the 120mm are quiet enough & moves a decent amount of air. Any suggestions on different 120mm or a good 200mm? I know the 200mm cannot be very thick, haven't measured yet, but I had bought one in the past that was too thick to fit in the front 200mm fan slot.