New Computer Help

The forum for non-component-related silent pc discussions.

Moderators: NeilBlanchard, Ralf Hutter, sthayashi, Lawrence Lee

pcgamer

New Computer Help

Post by pcgamer » Sun May 02, 2004 7:26 pm

Hi,
I'm new to the SPCR forums but i've been reading some of the reviews here for a while.
Let me just get to the point.
I'm building a new computer and I would like to get your advice on which parts to use to make my computer as quiet as possible.

Here is what I currently bought / have: (everthing is stock)
1- P4 3.0 Ghz
2- OCZ 1GB PC3200 Dual Channel
3- Radeon 9500 Pro
4- Zalman CNPS7000A-Cu
5- SilenX 550W 14dbA PSU
6- 2 x Maxtor 160GB
7- 2 x WD 160GB
8- 1x WD 250GB
9 -DVD-RW and CD-RW Drives

I don't have to use all of the HDs. But I would like to have 2 or 3 HDs in the system (I use alot of space)

What I need (that I can think of):
1- Fan controller
2- Case ( i don't want to use a dremmel to make holes and stuff)
3- Fan (I have silenx 80mm fans but I would guess 120mm would be better)
4- Motherboard

So if you guys or girls could give me some ideas that would be awesome.
I want this computer to be as quiet as possible without a lot of hassle
( I would not mind some)
TIA. :D

AndrewC

Post by AndrewC » Sun May 02, 2004 7:36 pm

I would get an Arctic VGA Silencer for the 9500 Pro. I don't know anything about Intel motherboads, but can suggest the Antec 3700BQE for a quiet case without much modding.

For hard drives, the Maxtors set to Minimum Acoustic output using AAM should be quiet enough for a while, but I would not use the Westdigs if you plan on a quiet system.

sthayashi
*Lifetime Patron*

Post by sthayashi » Sun May 02, 2004 7:53 pm

WELCOME TO SPCR

Straight up, I'm going to tell you that your hard drives will be the loudest components in your system. Everything else should be quiet enough (w/ the possible exception of the video card fan, which I'm not qualified to say).

Here's my thoughts: