Connecting 3700amb front USB ports to the motherboard

The forum for non-component-related silent pc discussions.

Moderators: NeilBlanchard, Ralf Hutter, sthayashi, Lawrence Lee

Post Reply
Wedge
Posts: 1356
Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2003 10:59 pm
Location: NorthEast Arkansas, USA

Connecting 3700amb front USB ports to the motherboard

Post by Wedge » Sat Dec 06, 2003 11:45 am

Guys I have never connected the front USBs to my board, an Asus P4B266-C.

The case is the 3700amb, as noted in my sig.

Question: if I get the wires wrong, will is damage the board or USB ports? I have never done this before so any advice is appreciated.
Last edited by Wedge on Sat Dec 06, 2003 8:10 pm, edited 1 time in total.
The Quake III Machine
C2D e6750 @ Gigabyte GA-P45T-ES3G | 8GB GSkill | Venemous X | Asus 560Ti | Corsair 520HX | 750GB Seagate | Antec 300 | Thanks SPCR

MikeC
Site Admin
Posts: 12283
Joined: Sun Aug 11, 2002 3:26 pm
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
Contact:

Post by MikeC » Sat Dec 06, 2003 11:54 am

Antec supplies a manual for the case, which includes wiring codes for USB: http://www.antec-inc.com/pdf/manuals/slk3700amb_na.pdf
Mike Chin, SPCR Editor/Publisher
Support SPCR by buying your gear through this link: Amazon

Winston
Posts: 58
Joined: Mon Nov 24, 2003 2:48 am
Location: Norway

Post by Winston » Sat Dec 06, 2003 12:29 pm

MikeC wrote:Antec supplies a manual for the case, which includes wiring codes for USB: http://www.antec-inc.com/pdf/manuals/slk3700amb_na.pdf
And the manual for the motherboard should also have similar info, so that you are sure to get it correct :)
Jan Erik Nicolaysen (aka Winston)

Wedge
Posts: 1356
Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2003 10:59 pm
Location: NorthEast Arkansas, USA

Post by Wedge » Sat Dec 06, 2003 3:12 pm

Thanks guys. I asked for advice and you gave it -- RTFM Image (I've got that part covered)


But my question: can I damage anything should I do this incorrectly?
The Quake III Machine
C2D e6750 @ Gigabyte GA-P45T-ES3G | 8GB GSkill | Venemous X | Asus 560Ti | Corsair 520HX | 750GB Seagate | Antec 300 | Thanks SPCR

kie
Posts: 105
Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2003 10:46 am
Location: UK

Post by kie » Sat Dec 06, 2003 3:45 pm

nah - I think you should be fine - I had my usb ports wired up wrong for ages and once I rewired them correctly, no problems :)
I used to be deaf and content before I found SPCR...

GamingGod
Posts: 2057
Joined: Fri Oct 04, 2002 9:52 pm
Location: United States, Mobile, AL

Post by GamingGod » Sat Dec 06, 2003 3:54 pm

i feel your pain though. I still havent got into my case to hook up the front usb. I havent had to use them yet so I figured what the hell. Its too many damn wires and the labeling on this is so tiny that even my great vision can barely read it.
Internet Computer: e4300w/Mininja, DS3, 2gigDDR800, hd501lj, Evga 8800gts, 380w Earthwatts Big Fan Modified Case

Gaming Computer: q6600w/TRUE penny modded, GA-EP45-DS3P, 4gigDDR800, WD640 Black, Evga 260core216, 520HX, Antec 900

DryFire
Posts: 1076
Joined: Sun May 25, 2003 8:29 am
Location: USA

Post by DryFire » Sat Dec 06, 2003 4:06 pm

I'm the same way gaming.

I tried it once. I must have wired it wrong, so teh it wouldn't boot. All i had to do was unplug it and it worked.

Wedge
Posts: 1356
Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2003 10:59 pm
Location: NorthEast Arkansas, USA

Post by Wedge » Sat Dec 06, 2003 4:16 pm

Well I got it connected with ease (NOT -- it was a bitch to see and my fingers aren't tiny super-accurate tweezers either).

But I'm getting no recognition of my MicroAdvantage Quick Drive.

Image

Although, I'm assuming that I DO have the USB wires connected to the correct headers. Otherwise, I would get no response at all, correct?
The Quake III Machine
C2D e6750 @ Gigabyte GA-P45T-ES3G | 8GB GSkill | Venemous X | Asus 560Ti | Corsair 520HX | 750GB Seagate | Antec 300 | Thanks SPCR

Wedge
Posts: 1356
Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2003 10:59 pm
Location: NorthEast Arkansas, USA

Post by Wedge » Sat Dec 06, 2003 5:08 pm

Okay does this mean I have not connected the wires properly?
If I click the message it only gives me a view of the picture posted just above.

Image

The same MicroAdvantage Quickidrive works without problems on the back USB ports of the motherboard.
The Quake III Machine
C2D e6750 @ Gigabyte GA-P45T-ES3G | 8GB GSkill | Venemous X | Asus 560Ti | Corsair 520HX | 750GB Seagate | Antec 300 | Thanks SPCR

MikeC
Site Admin
Posts: 12283
Joined: Sun Aug 11, 2002 3:26 pm
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
Contact:

Post by MikeC » Sat Dec 06, 2003 6:06 pm

The front ports may not be USB 2.0 compliant. I think Antec will correct this; they have before, by sending new hardware.
Mike Chin, SPCR Editor/Publisher
Support SPCR by buying your gear through this link: Amazon

Wedge
Posts: 1356
Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2003 10:59 pm
Location: NorthEast Arkansas, USA

Post by Wedge » Sat Dec 06, 2003 6:15 pm

Problem fixed. It turns out that the MicroAdvantage Quickidrives work with both 1.2 or 2.0

My problem was that I had the positive and negatives leads mixed.

Here's what I get after switching them. Although it says there is a "problem", it works just fine. I have a new drive labeled "Removable Disc" that works like a normal drive in Windows.

Image
The Quake III Machine
C2D e6750 @ Gigabyte GA-P45T-ES3G | 8GB GSkill | Venemous X | Asus 560Ti | Corsair 520HX | 750GB Seagate | Antec 300 | Thanks SPCR

Wedge
Posts: 1356
Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2003 10:59 pm
Location: NorthEast Arkansas, USA

Post by Wedge » Sat Dec 06, 2003 6:34 pm

SON OF A B****Image

Same "malfunction" error agian. Five minutes ago it was working just fine.....


EDIT/ The front bezel isn't allowing the quick drive to make full contact with the hub; hence, the "malfunctioned" error.

Not sure if this is fixable; will try to shim it I guess.
The Quake III Machine
C2D e6750 @ Gigabyte GA-P45T-ES3G | 8GB GSkill | Venemous X | Asus 560Ti | Corsair 520HX | 750GB Seagate | Antec 300 | Thanks SPCR

Wedge
Posts: 1356
Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2003 10:59 pm
Location: NorthEast Arkansas, USA

Post by Wedge » Sat Dec 06, 2003 8:09 pm

I'm not sure if any other owners of the 3700amb had this problem with depressed USB hubs in the front, but I had to add some padding in order to make peripherals connect.

It's ghetto but it works....

Image

Image
The Quake III Machine
C2D e6750 @ Gigabyte GA-P45T-ES3G | 8GB GSkill | Venemous X | Asus 560Ti | Corsair 520HX | 750GB Seagate | Antec 300 | Thanks SPCR

Ralf Hutter
SPCR Reviewer
Posts: 8636
Joined: Sat Nov 23, 2002 6:33 am
Location: Sunny SoCal

Post by Ralf Hutter » Sun Dec 07, 2003 4:53 am

Wedge wrote:I'm not sure if any other owners of the 3700amb had this problem with depressed USB hubs in the front, but I had to add some padding in order to make peripherals connect.

It's ghetto but it works....
Yeah, I had the same thing happen with a buddy's memory stick. I kind of just pushed it in hard and held it there to transfer the files. My own USB stick and other peripherals never gave me any trouble so I haven't had to resort to shimming it out yet.
Main Box: Intel i3-3225, Intel DH77EB, 16GB Corsair RAM, 256GB Samsung 830, SS360GP PSU, CM PS07 case.
Music Server: Intel DH77EB + i3-3220, 2xSamsung 2TB F4, Pico PSU, Fractal Define Mini, 2xScythe Fans @250 rpm.

Post Reply