Fileserver and p180 gaming rig

Show off your quiet rig.

Moderators: NeilBlanchard, Ralf Hutter, sthayashi, Lawrence Lee

Post Reply
klankymen
Patron of SPCR
Posts: 1069
Joined: Thu Aug 04, 2005 3:31 pm
Location: Munich, Bavaria, Europe

Fileserver and p180 gaming rig

Post by klankymen » Thu Apr 20, 2006 3:40 am

Fileserver:
-Asrock socket A VIA motherboard
-1GHz Duron
-Stock HS with 60<80 adapter and panaflo L1a @ 9v fanmate
-512MB Corsair Value RAM
-Enermax "quiet" 350w psu (ooold thing, but keeps its promise of quietness)
-Seagate Cuda 9 250gig sATA
-Samsung SP 250gig pATA
-WD 60gig old pATA
-IBM deathstar 20gig, have some stuff on it I wanna take off before i get rid of it, but I'm too lazy to do it. this is the loudest thing in here.
-old plextor CD-RW
-GeForce 3 Ti 500 with ZM-HP80D or whatever the exact number is, you know what I mean
-Old big generic case
-Antec 38mm Tricool 120mm

-windows server 2003

Image
Image
CPU runs kinda hot, 50°C, but I can't be bothered to do anything about it, GPU has no temp monitoring unfortunately, but the heat sink stays cool, the thing runs headless most of the time anyway, so it doesnt matter
Image
Hard drives are mounted in the bottom HDD rack from the p180 with the Tricool blowing over them on low, the Seagate is in the tray for the top HDD rack, so I can stick it into my gaming rig if I want to transport the stuff on it.
Image
Image
The thing is currently right next to me for troubleshooting, but once it moves to the basement I wan to attach some sort of dust filter over that dust magnet fan, also for the sake of the cats ;)
Image
You can see the fanmate knob hanging out of the back


Gaming Rig:
Details in sig, WinXP x64

Image
Image
A little ducting experiment with a Scythe fan in the front intake position to see if it helps the GPU, but doesn't do much.
Image
Image
The Cables are actually quite out of the way, it just looks messy because of the sheer amount of them.
Image
Temps: Idle (fan on low) - Load (fan on high)
GPU: 62°C - 85°C
CPU: 35°C - 40°C
NB: 40°C - 48°C
Case: 27°C - 33°C
Ambient: 20°C

However the mobo is going back to newegg (AGAIN) tomorrow, so I guess the system STILL isn't finished.
"Those who would give up Essential Liberty to purchase a little Temporary Safety, deserve neither Liberty nor Safety." -Benjamin Franklin

IsaacKuo
Posts: 1705
Joined: Fri Jan 23, 2004 7:50 am
Location: Baton Rouge, Louisiana

Post by IsaacKuo » Thu Apr 20, 2006 5:45 am

You've got a heatpipe cooled videocard in a (mostly) headless file server! That's just sick! :)
Isaac Kuo

Firetech
Friend of SPCR
Posts: 680
Joined: Fri Dec 16, 2005 4:50 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia
Contact:

Post by Firetech » Thu Apr 20, 2006 11:04 am

I'm more worried about the HDD sat on top of the (hot?) PSU :lol:
Main PC: Antec SLK 3000B, Fortron Bluestorm 400w, Gigabyte GA-G31M-S2L, Intel e7300, Kingston 2x2Gb Value DDR2, OCZ Vertex 2 60Gb, 320Gb 7200.10, 750Gb Samsung. Silencing/Cooling mods= Glacialtech 120mm front fan, rear Tri-cool on low, CPU HSF = std @ 850rpm :D
WHS: Antec LS-100, GA-MA74GM-S2H, LE-1250, 2x2Gb XMS DDR2, 7Tb
HTPC: Antec NSK2480B, MA78GPM-DS2H & Athlon 64 X2 4850e

klankymen
Patron of SPCR
Posts: 1069
Joined: Thu Aug 04, 2005 3:31 pm
Location: Munich, Bavaria, Europe

Post by klankymen » Thu Apr 20, 2006 12:29 pm

lol, it was the only fanless AGP 8X video card I have, so I figured I'd stick with it, rather than spending 30 bucks on a MX4000. It didn't use to be in a headless rig, a long time ago it was a performance card :D

As for the HDD, the psu isn't that hot, the HDD used to be sitting at the bottom of the case, and would be like 48°C. I figured that was too high, so I moved it there, and now I'm in the high 30s, it seems to benifit from the airflow.
"Those who would give up Essential Liberty to purchase a little Temporary Safety, deserve neither Liberty nor Safety." -Benjamin Franklin

Trunks
Posts: 219
Joined: Sat Mar 04, 2006 1:58 am
Location: Baton Rouge, LA

Post by Trunks » Thu Apr 20, 2006 2:55 pm

Does the duct / cd tray help you at all?

klankymen
Patron of SPCR
Posts: 1069
Joined: Thu Aug 04, 2005 3:31 pm
Location: Munich, Bavaria, Europe

Post by klankymen » Sat Dec 02, 2006 2:58 am

to be honest, no. not at all.

which is why it didnt stay in there long.
"Those who would give up Essential Liberty to purchase a little Temporary Safety, deserve neither Liberty nor Safety." -Benjamin Franklin

LinuxTech
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Dec 26, 2006 1:54 pm

Post by LinuxTech » Tue Dec 26, 2006 2:14 pm

Have you considered running Linux/Unix with Samba on your file server? There is a great ready made BSD distro called Free NAS at http://www.freenas.org/. The requirements for Free NAS are very low and it is very reliable.

klankymen
Patron of SPCR
Posts: 1069
Joined: Thu Aug 04, 2005 3:31 pm
Location: Munich, Bavaria, Europe

Post by klankymen » Fri Jan 19, 2007 11:49 am

I did use linux for a while, but it was too much stress with the different filesystems (nfs, ntfs, fat32).

As a matter of fact I Have given up completely on the fileserver and have 1tb worth of storage in external enclosures with long usb cables:

Image
"Those who would give up Essential Liberty to purchase a little Temporary Safety, deserve neither Liberty nor Safety." -Benjamin Franklin

autoboy
Posts: 1008
Joined: Fri Dec 10, 2004 8:10 pm
Location: San Jose, California

Post by autoboy » Fri Jan 19, 2007 12:32 pm

you could also just pick up a nas

klankymen
Patron of SPCR
Posts: 1069
Joined: Thu Aug 04, 2005 3:31 pm
Location: Munich, Bavaria, Europe

Post by klankymen » Fri Jan 19, 2007 1:03 pm

way more expensive. and I like the fact that with usb I can take my data with me to a lan or something similar.

and since i dont have a webserver anymore I really dont need the hard drives to be on 24/7, only when I use my main comp.
"Those who would give up Essential Liberty to purchase a little Temporary Safety, deserve neither Liberty nor Safety." -Benjamin Franklin

Shukuteki
Posts: 90
Joined: Tue Dec 05, 2006 8:36 pm

Post by Shukuteki » Fri Jan 19, 2007 2:36 pm

What did you do with the server?
Athlon X2 4000+
Gigabyte 690GS3
Radeon HD3850
WD 160gb

klankymen
Patron of SPCR
Posts: 1069
Joined: Thu Aug 04, 2005 3:31 pm
Location: Munich, Bavaria, Europe

Post by klankymen » Fri Jan 19, 2007 2:48 pm

so far nothing, it's sitting around in my basement picking up dust, only the ram is in use right now. but once I have more time I'll look into figuring out what to do with it....
"Those who would give up Essential Liberty to purchase a little Temporary Safety, deserve neither Liberty nor Safety." -Benjamin Franklin

Post Reply