Comments on Antec Sonata installs and mods

Enclosures and acoustic damping to help quiet them.

Moderators: NeilBlanchard, Ralf Hutter, sthayashi, Devonavar

Tom Brown

Comments on Antec Sonata installs and mods

Post by Tom Brown » Sun Sep 14, 2003 8:15 pm

I've been enjoying my Sonatas for a couple of months now. The guys here were great help on a few issues. Thanks, guys.

I thought I'd put together a few comments for kicking around.

The Antec fans are a wee bit quieter than average but they aren't quiet at all. The 120mm fans hum and the 80mm fans have a hum/buzz that's quite grating. Swapping in Panaflo L1As for the 80mm Antecs was a pleasant releif.

I'm still running the 120mm Antec case fans. It's not like they're loud but they but they produce most of the noise that still comes from the systems.

In my opinion, Antec is misrepresenting the quietness of their product given the stock fans. I could hear the silence quite well, thank you. With two Sonatas in one room, people on the phone could hear my systems with total clairity without me having to hold the receiver down to the systems.

My two year old Maxtor hard disks sound like turbine engines compared to the Seagate 7200.7 drives that have replaced them. The guys who pine for the days of the Baracuda IV must have quieter systems than I do because I can't hear the 7200.7 drives over the fan noise. The Maxtors were clearly audible, though.

I cut two ribs out of the inner intake grill. It's probably a good modification but I doubt it does anything noticeable.

I covered the Antec vents with some thick vinyl material that sealed them perfectly. This mod has been spoken of by a few people here. It made sense to do.