Setting up a network

Our "pub" where you can post about things completely Off Topic or about non-silent PC issues.

Moderators: NeilBlanchard, Ralf Hutter, sthayashi, Lawrence Lee

pputer

Setting up a network

Post by pputer » Fri Jul 20, 2007 11:47 am

I'm new to networking and I want to set up two computers (eventually). I'm working on obtaining the 2nd computer but I will eventually want to have them networked.

I found this site:
http://computer.howstuffworks.com/home-network.htm

Does any experienced computer network users have any opinion on that site? Which is a good site to learn how to do it?

My idea was to initially set up a wired network and once that is working, I can try wireless later on. I wanted to start simple and work my way to the more complicated wireless setup.

One computer will be mostly using Linux (on Linux OS) but I am not asking here for the 'how-to' for that. I'd be satisfied with some ideas and knowledge in the basics.

jhhoffma

Post by jhhoffma » Mon Jul 23, 2007 7:40 am

With a hardware router, which is really a necessity for any type of shared internet connection or broadband internet access, setting up a network is simple. Installing NICs in each computer and depending on the OS for each system, it's only a matter of telling the computers to use the DHCP server of the router for their own IPs (Dynamic IP) and making sure they all use the same network name. Then, if you were using modem before, you'd just configure your internet/mail programs to use the network card (LAN) for their connection.

Et voila. You're done.

vanhelmont

Post by vanhelmont » Mon Jul 23, 2007 9:48 am

pputer,

For me, the practical way to set up a network depends on how I'm connected to the internet.

When I used modems that provided a single interface to me (first a modem card in my computer, then a cable modem with a single ethernet connection)