Budget Linux Development Box

Got a shopping cart of parts that you want opinions on? Get advice from members on your planned or existing system (or upgrade).

Moderators: NeilBlanchard, Ralf Hutter, sthayashi, Lawrence Lee

uggedal

Budget Linux Development Box

Post by uggedal » Fri Aug 03, 2007 4:52 am

My aim for this system is to get it as silent as possible, but as I'm a student I'll have to mind my budget. I run Linux and most of the time I use the box for surfing (firefox), media (mplayer) and development (vim). Therefore I don't need to have the fastest system on the block:
  • Case: Antec NSK3400 with 380W PSU
  • Motherboard: Asus M2NPV-VM, nForce430
  • CPU: AMD Athlon64 X2 4000+ 65 nm Brisbane core
  • Cooler: Scythe Ninja Plus
  • Memory: Kingston DDR2-533, 2x512MB, CAS 4
  • HDD: WD Caviar 2500AAKS, 250GB, SATAII, 16MB cache
  • DVDR: NEC AD-7170S, SATA, Black
I was thinking of using the Ninja passively if that provides sufficient cooling for the CPU. Any thoughts?
Last edited by uggedal on Fri Aug 03, 2007 3:30 pm, edited 1 time in total.

qviri

Post by qviri » Fri Aug 03, 2007 5:36 am

I'd suggest one 1 GB stick for RAM... Shouldn't be much more expensive if at all, and leaves you with more room to upgrade.

mexell

Post by mexell » Fri Aug 03, 2007 7:03 am

I would suggest another mainboard, like the Gigabyte MA69VM-S2. This sports a newer chipset (the AMD 690V) which runs waaay cooler than the nForce 4. And it's also cheaper (here by 20€). With the money saved, you could almost get another gig of RAM!

And, you're using a very low power CPU. So you might get away with an Arctic Cooling Alpine 64 which would also save another 30 to 40€. If temperature-controlled, the attached fan will barely spin given your usage profile and thus be virtually silent. You are also likely to have to do some modding to the NSK3400 if you want the ninja to fit in there. Running it passively should be no problem, though.

protellect