P182, SLI + Thermalright: Initial questions on new system

Got a shopping cart of parts that you want opinions on? Get advice from members on your planned or existing system (or upgrade).

Moderators: NeilBlanchard, Ralf Hutter, sthayashi, Lawrence Lee

Ernest

P182, SLI + Thermalright: Initial questions on new system

Post by Ernest » Sat Jan 19, 2008 10:42 pm

I'm just beginning the process of putting together a new system. Mainly gaming/entertainment so performance vs quietness may be a bit of a trade-off. I've been reading quite a lot but I'm hitting a wall of confusion over a few things.

At this point I'm pretty much sold on the following:
Antec P182 case with nexus 120mm fans and maybe some damping
Seasonic S12 Energy+ 650w PSU
Intel Core2 Quad Q6600 CPU
EVGA nForce 680i SLI 775 A1 motherboard
2 or 4 GB ram (probably Corsair TwinX something)
2x 300-500 GB SATA hard drives (Seagate probably: only because I've never had a problem with them and they seem pretty quiet)
Sound card (Creative or something else: more research required here)

What I'm not sure on are GPU(s) and cooling.

I want to push this thing pretty hard but I don't want to go crazy spending money like its going out of fashion. I'm considering going for 2x 8800GTX in SLI but that will potentially introduce problems with cooling and space. I like the Thermalright cooling gear but would want to use Nexus 120mm fans with it. I'm concerned that there just wouldn't be enough room in the case for 2 cards in SLI with heatsinks, fans and a soundcard. Can anyone suggest a suitable quiet(ish) cooling solution?

It's all a bit of a blur atm. Its a matter of whether all this is going to fit in the case and what is the best (quietest/most efficient) cooling solution. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

NeilBlanchard

Post by NeilBlanchard » Sun Jan 20, 2008 5:18 am

Hello Ernest,

SLi is not what it is cracked up to be -- a single faster card is often better.