System Advice on a New Build

Got a shopping cart of parts that you want opinions on? Get advice from members on your planned or existing system (or upgrade).

Moderators: NeilBlanchard, Ralf Hutter, sthayashi, Lawrence Lee

fountainhills

System Advice on a New Build

Post by fountainhills » Wed Jun 09, 2010 8:11 am

Hello, I am a newbie to the board...first post.
I have an Antec Sonata II case that I wish to use (I think it is an ATX form factor); and I am looking for recommendations or experiences for components in a quiet strong build.
The only gaming I do is FSX. I want to run Windows 7, I can get either 32 or 64 bit versions.
I use Office 2007 but have a free upgrade coming to 2010.

Your advice on components is appreciated! (Motherboard, graphics, HD, anything else).

Flanker

Post by Flanker » Wed Jun 09, 2010 5:36 pm

HDD: personally I find the WD Caviar Blue / Caviar SE is really nice balance between price, performance and noise levels

GFX: not sure about the specs of FSX but there are passively cooled 5750's on the market, they can play most games at 1920x1080 in medium settings, go up a notch you can also get 5770 HAWK (from MSI) or 5770 Vapor-x (from sapphire) these are actively cooled but reasonably quiet. there are more powerful cards out there but not sure about their noise levels.

CPU/MB: MSI H55M-E33 and i3 530 will give you some nice performance efficiently, they do cost a bit, AMD stuff are cheap but i'm not sure about their efficiency

fountainhills

Thanks flanker!

Post by fountainhills » Wed Jun 09, 2010 6:04 pm

Great advice, I looked at these components after reading your post and sounds good. Appreciate the time!!

fwiffo

Post by fwiffo » Wed Jun 09, 2010 6:09 pm

What's yer budget? Lynnfield (e.g. an i5-750) is going to be the best performance/heat ratio. Of course, you'll want an aftermarket cooler, as the stock Intel coolers suck for both cooling and acoustics.

loimlo

Post by loimlo » Thu Jun 10, 2010 7:35 am