Q6600 owners... what is your VID?

All about them.

Moderators: NeilBlanchard, Ralf Hutter, sthayashi, Lawrence Lee

Post Reply
graysky
Posts: 147
Joined: Fri Sep 16, 2005 4:14 pm
Location: My desk

Q6600 owners... what is your VID?

Post by graysky » Fri Jul 27, 2007 3:19 pm

If you own a Q6600, please reply with your VID and the stepping of your chip. The VID can be found using coretemp. If you're using vista, coretemp will not display the stepping in some cases, so you can use CPU-Z (it's listed under "revision") to get the stepping.

Here is a shot of mine for reference:
Image

If all else fails, look on the box your q6600 came in; the last 5 letters after the Q6600 in the production code will tell you the stepping. "SLACR" means it's a G0 while "SL9UM" means it's an older B3. Here an example shot taken by XtremeTiramisu to give you an idea:
Image

So, I have a B3 w/ a VID of 1.2875v

EDIT: Here are the data as of 23-Sep-2007 at 7:30 AM based on people's replies to my VID thread here and elsewhere; just as a reminder, please do not post your VID from here on out as I won't be updating the data sets:

Image
*Histograms generated with SBHisto

Total replies: 208
102 replies so far for B3 stepping Q6600s:
(VID: # of replies)
1.1625: 3
1.2125: 1
1.2250: 1
1.2375: 1
1.2500: 5
1.2625: 2
1.2750: 13
1.2800: 1
1.2850: 1
1.2875: 12
1.3000: 14
1.3100: 1
1.3125: 15
1.3200: 1
1.3250: 31

158 replies so far for G0 stepping Q6600s:
(VID: # of replies)
1.1125: 1
1.1520: 1
1.1625: 5
1.2000: 5
1.2125: 9
1.2150: 1
1.2200: 1
1.2250: 8
1.2375: 10
1.2500: 16
1.2525: 1
1.2600: 1
1.2625: 17
1.2650: 1
1.2700: 1
1.2750: 25
1.2850: 1
1.2875: 23
1.3000: 17
1.3125: 10
1.3250: 5
Last edited by graysky on Sun Sep 23, 2007 1:28 pm, edited 11 times in total.

vg30et
Posts: 105
Joined: Tue Aug 22, 2006 5:14 am

Post by vg30et » Fri Jul 27, 2007 4:25 pm

Here's mine:
Image

graysky
Posts: 147
Joined: Fri Sep 16, 2005 4:14 pm
Location: My desk

Post by graysky » Sat Jul 28, 2007 12:48 am

Wow, is the vcore reported in cpu-z right? Are you really running 9x333 @ 1.168v? What is your vcore in your BIOS and is it prime95 or orthos stable? Mine won't do it on less than 1.232v in cpu-z (which is 1.2625v in the BIOS).

vg30et
Posts: 105
Joined: Tue Aug 22, 2006 5:14 am

Post by vg30et » Sat Jul 28, 2007 4:26 am

Bios vcore and rmclock are both set at 1.25v. Actual voltage is probably around 1.175V: CPU-Z reports it at 1.168v, speedfan shows 1.17v and Gigabyte's hardware monitor shows 1.80v. It is orthos stable for 1 hour and it's been stable running FAH for 16 hours so far.

graysky
Posts: 147
Joined: Fri Sep 16, 2005 4:14 pm
Location: My desk

Post by graysky » Sat Jul 28, 2007 5:21 am

DIfferent apps tend to report different values... what do you have it set to in the BIOS?

vg30et
Posts: 105
Joined: Tue Aug 22, 2006 5:14 am

Post by vg30et » Sat Jul 28, 2007 5:53 am

graysky wrote:DIfferent apps tend to report different values... what do you have it set to in the BIOS?
I have it set at the default value - 1.25v.

graysky
Posts: 147
Joined: Fri Sep 16, 2005 4:14 pm
Location: My desk

Post by graysky » Sun Jul 29, 2007 9:26 am

Just updated the first post of the thread with the data collected. Have a look!

LuckyNV
Posts: 68
Joined: Thu Jan 18, 2007 4:26 pm

Post by LuckyNV » Sun Jul 29, 2007 3:09 pm

B3 and 1.2750v

graysky
Posts: 147
Joined: Fri Sep 16, 2005 4:14 pm
Location: My desk

Post by graysky » Thu Aug 02, 2007 10:58 am

Okay guys, just updated the first post of the thread to reflect the new replies... have a look!

graysky
Posts: 147
Joined: Fri Sep 16, 2005 4:14 pm
Location: My desk

Post by graysky » Mon Aug 06, 2007 11:21 am

I don't quite know what to make of this whole lower VID = higher o/c potential thing. My chip for example, is a B3 stepping Q6600 w/ a reported VID of 1.2875V (coretemp), yet I can run 9x266 (stock) which is stable to 2x orthos for over 8 hours (I stopped it after 8 hours) @ 1.1375V in the BIOS which is 1.040V in CPU-Z under load. I can also run 9x327 @ 1.2275V in the BIOS or 1.208V in CPU-Z under load or a full 9x333 @ 1.2625V in the BIOS or 1.232 V in CPU-Z.

My point is that all these vcore values are under the VID reported in coretemp. In my case, the VID reported in coretemp doesn't seem to mean anything given that I can run my system up to a 25 % o/c well under this voltage.

Questions:

-What does the coretemp VID mean if anything?
-When comparing two identical stepping chips, does the one with the lower VID equate to anything meaningful?

graysky
Posts: 147
Joined: Fri Sep 16, 2005 4:14 pm
Location: My desk

Post by graysky » Sat Aug 11, 2007 11:18 am

Just updated the first post of the thread with the data collected... I counted 113 replies so far.

graysky
Posts: 147
Joined: Fri Sep 16, 2005 4:14 pm
Location: My desk

Post by graysky » Sun Aug 12, 2007 2:01 am

Updated the first post of the thread with the data collected (123 replies now) and added some histograms and basic statics to help visualize the data set.

graysky
Posts: 147
Joined: Fri Sep 16, 2005 4:14 pm
Location: My desk

Post by graysky » Sun Aug 19, 2007 1:29 am

Updated the first post of the thread with the data collected (182 replies now)... this has turned into a nice little thread :)

nzone
Posts: 54
Joined: Thu Jul 12, 2007 10:33 am

Post by nzone » Mon Aug 20, 2007 9:22 am

Mine is Rev B3 and Stepping 7; not overclocking.

System in power saving mode w/C1E (6x266) @ 1.175V (99% of the time, unless gaming)
Running nvidia stability test, cpu goes to (9x266) @ 1.8V. @1.725V, the stability testing failed with error.

My CPU in CIE mode is 2-3C below room temperature of 27C.
Running games or Nvidia Stability test never broke 30C.

bobov
Posts: 116
Joined: Wed Jun 02, 2004 3:19 pm

Post by bobov » Mon Aug 20, 2007 12:23 pm

G0 stepping, VID=1.2250v

Dazrin
Friend of SPCR
Posts: 22
Joined: Mon Aug 20, 2007 1:07 pm

Post by Dazrin » Mon Aug 20, 2007 5:53 pm

G0 Stepping with VID = 1.2000v

graysky
Posts: 147
Joined: Fri Sep 16, 2005 4:14 pm
Location: My desk

Post by graysky » Sat Aug 25, 2007 12:32 am

Updated the first post of the thread with the data collected (208 replies now)...

NeoNSX
Posts: 80
Joined: Sun Sep 10, 2006 5:04 am

Post by NeoNSX » Sat Sep 01, 2007 12:54 am

This is a fantastic thread. Kudos for starting it.
I'm another rev.B3 @ 1.3250v statistic. :(


Just wondering, what's the lowest voltage people using when overclocked to 3GHz?
Signatures are a waste of bandwidth. eg. you just read one. :)

graysky
Posts: 147
Joined: Fri Sep 16, 2005 4:14 pm
Location: My desk

Post by graysky » Sun Sep 23, 2007 1:29 pm

Okay all, this will be the final update; please don't post new VID data.

I'm not totally sure the integrity of the data collected is that high. What I mean by that is I have read several reports of different reported VIDs for the same chip on different boards. I have also read about the VID changing based on the speedstep state and other factors.

I started this thread hoping to see some sort of correlation between VID magnitude and vcore @ a given o/c level. I have received mixed reports on this front as well. I think the bottom line is there isn't a correlation between VID and overclockibility.

Since you guys took the time to reply to the post, the least I can do is update the data for the last time:

Replies for B3: 102
Replies for G0: 158
Total replies: 260 (a great response!)

I updated the first post of the thread with the new histograms.

Thanks to all who replied.

graysky
Posts: 147
Joined: Fri Sep 16, 2005 4:14 pm
Location: My desk

Post by graysky » Sun Sep 23, 2007 1:29 pm

NeoNSX wrote:This is a fantastic thread. Kudos for starting it.
I'm another rev.B3 @ 1.3250v statistic. :(


Just wondering, what's the lowest voltage people using when overclocked to 3GHz?
Mine does it on 1.2625V in the BIOS.

Post Reply