Touching a PSU can kill you?

PSUs: The source of DC power for all components in the PC & often a big noise source.

Moderators: NeilBlanchard, Ralf Hutter, sthayashi, Lawrence Lee, Devonavar

TomMe

Touching a PSU can kill you?

Post by TomMe » Thu Jun 22, 2006 3:01 am

When yesterday my uncle and I were fixing a problem with an undetected HDD inside a PC, I put it temporarily on the PSU and my uncle warned me I should never do such a thing since touching a PSU is very dangerous and can kill you (it was unplugged).

Since he has a background in electronics as a hobbyist I wouldn't want to ignore his advice. But if he's right then touching my case may kill me since it's all metal, I would have to be surprised I'm still living.

He warned me about the electrolytes, and I know that the inside can be very dangerous..but surely there must be some safety in place concerning the PSU casing?

Or in other words, is it safe to touch the PSU on the outside (even with the PC running)?

BillyBuerger
Patron of SPCR

Post by BillyBuerger » Thu Jun 22, 2006 3:21 am

Touching the outside of a PSU is not dangerous. If you have a fairly open fan grill or something, it's possible you could accidentally stick something inside which could be dangerous even if the PSU is unplugged. PSUs have capacitors inside that hold a charge even when unplugged. Usually, pressing the power button on the PC after unplugging the PSU will discharge any stored electricity. Although you still should be careful any time you open one.

I think your uncle was just being cautious. Maybe a little over cautious.

burebista

Re: Touching a PSU can kill you?

Post by burebista » Thu Jun 22, 2006 3:54 am

TomMe wrote:Or in other words, is it safe to touch the PSU on the outside (even with the PC running)?
Yes.
BillyBuerger wrote:Usually, pressing the power button on the PC after unplugging the PSU will discharge any stored electricity.