80+ Gold = very quiet ??

PSUs: The source of DC power for all components in the PC & often a big noise source.

Moderators: NeilBlanchard, Ralf Hutter, sthayashi, Lawrence Lee, Devonavar

guermantes

80+ Gold = very quiet ??

Post by guermantes » Mon Sep 20, 2010 10:25 am

Hi,
I am just starting out on my first adventure in building a computer, and I want it to be fairly silent so that I can enjoy Chopin without hearing the computer.

So let's start with the basics. I am thinking of getting a Fractal Design Define R3 case but the choosing of PSU is proving difficult. I read here in a review that "it's not easy to be a star power supply at SPCR these days. The high struttin' 80 Plus Gold models dominate the top, and only other goldies can hope to join their ranks. The noise level has dropped literally into silence, with Gold and fanless models making no noise at all.".

Does this mean that I will get a very quiet PSU as long as I pick on the has a 80+ Gold rating?
I am thinking primarily about one of these:
  • Corsair Professional Series Gold AX850
    OCZ Z Series 850W
    or maybe if I can find a 750W, but I don't intend to go SLI until in at least two years so I won't really need 850W.
Thanks!

gvblake22

Post by gvblake22 » Mon Sep 20, 2010 1:55 pm

You can't compare 80 Plux Gold power supplies without inlcuding the Seasonic X series. They even have fanless models too.

But to answer your question: No, not necessarily. You have a better chance of it being quiet because only high quality power supplies will have a gold certification, but it's not guaranteed.

merlin
Friend of SPCR

Post by merlin » Mon Sep 20, 2010 2:31 pm