Why is this system so hot?

Cooling Processors quietly

Moderators: NeilBlanchard, Ralf Hutter, sthayashi, Lawrence Lee

blake

Why is this system so hot?

Post by blake » Fri Jul 13, 2007 3:47 pm

Okay made some cooling modifications to my system - its a heck of a lot quieter but my temps are way too high

System:

-Antec Sonata III case
-E6600 CPU
-Rear exhaust and front intake Noctua 120mm fans (1200RPM)
-Thermalright HR-01 heat sink
-Artic Silver 5 thermal paste (staight line of paste down center of CPU)
-Fan duct mounted to rear exhaust fan

Temps:

-Ambient (room) 25'C
-Motherboard 46'C
-CPU idle (die): 47'C
-CPU stress (die): 63'C

Any thoughts why these temps are essentially identical to my setup using the stock intel hsf? This is my first time mounting an aftermarket HSF etc, but I following the instructions carefully. I did NOT use a bolt thru kit on the 775

Aris

Post by Aris » Fri Jul 13, 2007 4:48 pm

noctua fans have very poor air pressure, and dont perform as well when mounted on heatsinks and in other area's restrictive air paths. A nexus 120mm or Scythe S-Flex 1200rpm would be better suited for those situations.

Also note that quiet operation and cool operation do not go hand in hand. You will have to sacrifice low temps for quieter operation.

Your current load temps dont look that high to me. 63c is respectable, id be happy with your results if i was you.

Badger

Post by Badger » Fri Jul 13, 2007 6:55 pm

try running without the front intake fan, it'll help your (negative) pressure.

blake

Post by blake » Fri Jul 13, 2007 8:05 pm

tried without the front fan, same temps 63-66'C CPU die when stressed with Ortho.. I even cleaned HS, reapplied AS5, and re-set the heatsink same temps.

I am guessing the airflow in the Sonata III is too poor, OR as mentioned the noctua isnt great with a fan duct (although it feels like there is decent air venting out the back). I will try my original antec tricool to see if it works better as a fan duct/rear fan.