Quietest way to cool an XP1700?

Cooling Processors quietly

Moderators: NeilBlanchard, Ralf Hutter, sthayashi, Lawrence Lee

a900ss

Quietest way to cool an XP1700?

Post by a900ss » Tue Jul 15, 2003 10:51 am

I have an AMD XP 1700 that seems VERY noisy. It is all coming from the standard HSF that is fitted, a coolermaster but do not know which model.

What is the quietest way to cool this CPU?

Please recommend a HS and a seperate fan that will fit that HS. I have read reports that some fans can run at 7V, some at 5V. Is this just a case of flicking a switch? Do they come at different voltages? Please advise, I am a newbie but the noise is really annoying me.

Thanks

POLIST8
*Lifetime Patron*

Post by POLIST8 » Tue Jul 15, 2003 10:55 am

http://www.newegg.com/app/viewproduct.a ... eze+falcon

Get yourself a Panaflo/Vantec Stealth

Total price you're looking @ $25

POLIST8
*Lifetime Patron*

Post by POLIST8 » Tue Jul 15, 2003 10:56 am

Of course you need some Arctic Silver III CPU Goop.

JSealy00

Post by JSealy00 » Tue Jul 22, 2003 11:31 am

I would recommend the Volcano 9: http://heatsinkfactory.com/cgi-bin/HFAs ... gno=HS-008

It has variable fan speed and is fairly cheap at 20 bucks and is one big hunk of metal:-)

But of course....if you want "the" quietest way to cool it, that would probably be water cooling with some giant passively cooled radiator....

POLIST8
*Lifetime Patron*

Post by POLIST8 » Tue Jul 22, 2003 11:51 am

I have the Speeze with a Steath on my AMD 2k+ and it is very quiet. But not quiet enough as I will be replacing the Stealth with a Panaflo later this week.

It FalconRocks!!

Er...

aphonos
*Lifetime Patron*

Re: Quietest way to cool an XP1700?

Post by aphonos » Tue Jul 22, 2003 1:02 pm

a900ss wrote:I have an AMD XP 1700 that seems VERY noisy. It is all coming from the standard HSF that is fitted, a coolermaster but do not know which model.

What is the quietest way to cool this CPU?